
 
 

CONSUMER PROTECTION / WEIGHTS & MEASURES 
50 Sanatorium Road, Building A, 8th Floor 

Pomona, New York 10970 
Phone: (845) 364-3901     Fax: (845) 364-3902 

Email: CPLCAL@co.rockland.ny.us 
 

Kimberly Von Ronn, Esq. 
Director and Public Advocate 

 

 

  
 
Dear Inspector: 
 
Chapter 250 Article II of the Laws of Rockland County (formerly Rockland county Local Law 
No. 11 of 2012) requires persons doing the business of electrical inspections of electrical 
installations to obtain a Rockland County license. 
 
Conducting an Electrical Inspection business in Rockland County without a license is a 
misdemeanor. The penalty upon conviction is a fine is up to$1,000.00, or up to one year in 
prison, or both fine and imprisonment. 
 
Enclosed is a copy of this local law, general instructions, a license application, and other related 
forms. Before filling out the enclosed application forms, please be sure to read the instructions 
carefully. The application and must be notarized as required. 
 
If you are presently conducting or considering an Electrical Inspection business and have not 
obtained a license, return this application to this office as soon as possible. An unlicensed 
contractor will be prosecuted to the fullest extent of the law. Please take note that the maximum 
penalty that can be imposed by a judge is $1,000.00; and because a violation of this law is now a 
crime, we can go anywhere in New York State or adjoining states to apprehend and prosecute 
violators. 
 
NOTE: THIS LICENSE DOES NOT CONSTITUTE A ELECTRICAL LICENSE. 
 
NOTE:  THE FILING OF AN APPLICATION DOES NOT CONSTITUTE PERMISSION 
TO OPERATE.  A LICENSE MUST ACTUALLY BE IN POSSESION OF THE 
LICENSEE BEFORE ANY OPERATION MAY BE LEGALLY CONDUCTED. 
 



 

 

 
 

Application Checklist (11/17)  
 

 Application – for Agency & Chief Electrical Inspector must be signed in front of a notary public 
 Partnerships - BOTH parties must fill out an application 

 
 Application – for each Inspector 

 
 Child Support Certification – must be completed by applicant and signed in front of notary public 

 Partnerships - BOTH parties must fill out child support certification 
 Inspectors – for each Inspector 
 

 One of the following documents: 
 Certified Copy of Rockland County Business Certificate 
 Copy of Corporate Filing Receipt (If NYS Corp.) 
 Copy of Filing Receipt for Authority to Do Business in NY (if Foreign (outside NYS) Corp.) 
 If lost filing receipt, request and submit a copy of certificate of good standing (518-473-2492) 

 If you are a corporation that also does business under an assumed name: 
 Copy of Filing Receipt for Assumed Name Certificate 

 
 Proof of insurance 

 Liability – per classification (see back of law book Appendix A) 
 Send Certificate of Insurance (ACORD Form accepted) 

 Workers Compensation 
 Send Certificate of Insurance (Form C105.2(9-07) or SI-12) OR 
 Form U26.3 if through NYSIF OR 
 Form CE-200 in license name - file electronically at http://www.wcb.ny.gov/ 

 Disability 
 Send Certificate of Insurance (Form DB155) OR 
 Send Certificate of Compliance – Form DB120.1(5-06) OR 
 Form CE-200 in license name – file electronically at http://www.wcb.ny.gov/  

 Certificate Holder on certificates of insurance must be written as follows: 
 County of Rockland 

Office of Consumer Protection 
50 Sanatorium Road, Building A, 8th Floor 
Pomona, NY 10970 

 Insurance papers ONLY  
 Insurance company or Agent only may fax directly by to (845) 364-3902 
 Insurance company or Agent only may email with Subject: EIA. to CPLCAL@CO.ROCKLAND.NY.US 

http://www.wcb.ny.gov/
http://www.wcb.ny.gov/


 

 

Office of Consumer Protection 
 

THE FILING OF AN APPLICATION DOES NOT CONSTITUTE PERMISSION TO 
OPERATE.  A LICENSE MUST ACTUALLY BE IN POSSESION OF THE LICENSEE 

BEFORE ANY OPERATION MAY BE LEGALLY CONDUCTED. 
 

 GENERAL INSTRUCTIONS 
 

Failure to complete the required information or the giving of false information in the application may 
result in the denial of said application for a license or any renewal thereof as well as cancellation or 
revocation in the event such license has been issued. 
 
The licensing herein provided shall apply solely to Chapter 250 of the Laws of Rockland County. 
 
The issuance of a license is subject to verification of the requirements herein provided. 
 
1) Applicant will be the “Chief Electrical Inspector” for the inspection business 
2) An application must be signed and notarized as required.  
3) All employees doing inspections must be certified. 
4) The following Documents will be required from:  

a) Chief Electrical Inspector 
i) Certification from I.E.I.A. as a Master Inspector 
ii) (2) Passport size photos 
iii) Child Support Certification (Notarized) 

b) Electrical Inspector 
i) Copy of Certification from I.E.I.A. in the discipline that you are inspecting. 
ii) (2) Passport size Photos 
iii) Child Support Certification (Notarized) 

5) You will be required to list any unsatisfied judgments. 
6) You will be required to list any criminal convictions. 
7) A CORPORATION must submit a copy of the filing receipt showing the filing of the corporation 

with the New York Secretary of State. 
8) A FOREIGN CORPORATION must submit a copy of the filing receipt from the New York 

Secretary of State granting the corporation the authority to do business in New York State. 
9) A DOMESTIC OR FOREIGN CORPORATION with an ASSUMED NAME must submit a copy of 

the filing receipt from the New York Secretary of State granting use of the assumed name in the 
county of Rockland. 

10) A PARTNERSHIP, conducting business under a trade name, must submit a certified copy of the 
partnership certificate on file in the Rockland County Clerk’s Office. 

11) AN INDIVIDUAL operating under a trade name must submit a certified copy of the trade name 
certificate on file in the Rockland County Clerk’s Office. 

12) The fee for licensing shall be $400.00 including the Chief Electrical Inspector and a separate fee of 
$100.00 for each additional Electrical Inspector by check or money order only payable to R. C. 
Commissioner of Finance with the filing of the application.  Each fee must be submitted separately. 
(i.e. A Chief Electrical Inspector with one electrical inspector must submit two checks, one for $400 
and one for $100. ) 

ALL LICENSE FEES ARE NON-REFUNDABLE 
 



 

 

13) Applicant must submit Form C-105.2, Form SI-12 or Form U26.3 as proof that he or she has 
obtained the required workers’ compensation insurance and Form DB 120.1 or Form DB155 as 
proof of disability benefits coverage.  County of Rockland, Consumer Protection Office must be 
listed as Certificate Holder.  Only the most current version of the forms will be accepted. 

 
14) Applicants who are not required by law to carry worker’s compensation and/or disability benefits 

insurance should submit Form CE-200.  (Form CE-200, Certification of Attestation for New York 
Entities With No Employees And Certain Out of State Entities, That New York State Workers’ 
Compensation And/Or Disability Benefits Insurance Coverage Is Not Required).  The form can be 
filled out electronically on the NYS Workers’ Compensation Board website at 
http://www.wcb.ny.gov/, click on common forms and search by form number.  Print a finished form 
to submit with your application.  Paper forms are available but estimated processing time for paper 
applications is four weeks. 

 
15) Proof of occurrence based liability Insurance in amount not less than $500,000 for damages to 

personal property. The County of Rockland, Office of Consumer Protection must be named 
Certificate Holder. 

 
16) If anyone other than the applicant is authorized to discuss the pending application with our office, 

the applicant must attach a separate letter indicating their full name and granting authority. 
 
17) Each applicant and employee must complete and submit a completed and notarized Child Support 

Certification with their application pursuant to NYS General Obligations Law §3-503.  If a business 
partnership, each partner must submit Child Support Certification. 

 
THIS LICENSE DOES NOT CONSTITUTE AN ELECTRICAL LICENSE. 

 
 

http://www.wcb.ny.gov/


 

 

 
ROCKLAND COUNTY 

DEPT. OF WEIGHTS & MEASURES 
OFFICE OF CONSUMER PROTECTION 

LICENSING DIVISION 
 

 
APPLICATION FOR LICENSE AS AN ELECTRICAL INSPECTION BUSINESS 
ANSWERS TO ALL QUESTIONS MUST BE ACCURATE AND COMPLETE. NO BLANK SPACES. 

CHECK BOX TO INDICATE TYPE OF OWNERSHIP 
Corporation/LLC/LTD/LP/LLP  Co-partnership   Individual Owner 

 
Name of Business             
 
Trade/Assumed or Display Name           
 
Business Address Street             
 
Town or Village    State  Zip  Business Phone No.: (     )  -  
 
Email address:        Business Facsimile No: (     )  -  
 
Name of Chief Electrical Inspector  (Last, First, Middle)          
 
Home Address Street             
 
Town or Village    State  Zip  Home Phone No.: (    )  - 
 
Date of Birth (MM/DD/YYYY)   Sex: M F  
 
 
Partnership:  Yes  No 
 
If Yes, list name and address of each Partner: 
 
Name:     Address:          
 
Name:     Address:         
 
Corporation/LLC/LTD/LP/LLP:  Yes  No 
 
If Yes, list name, title and address of any officer of the corporation or a designated agent of service upon whom process or other legal 
notice may be served. 
 
Name:     Address:          
Corporate Title:     
 
Name:     Address:          
Corporate Title:     
 
ALL EMPLOYEES of the Electrical Inspection Agency  who deal with the public and have authority to inspect 

NAME RESIDENCE ADDRESS DESCRIPTION OF 
CERTIFICATION 

   

   

   

 
USE ADDITIONAL SHEETS IF NECESSARY 

LIC NO.    
RECEIPT NO.   
DATE    
FEE PAID $   
CSC    --------------------------------  

DO NOT WRITE IN THIS SPACE 



 

 

LIST ALL UNSATISFIED JUDGEMENTS in which the applicant, partner (s) or if a corporation, each 
officer are named as judgment debtors. IF NONE INDICATE BELOW. (Use extra sheets if necessary). 

 
Date    Name of Judgment Debtor Name of Judgment Creditor Disposition - Court and Date 

    

    

    

 
LIST ALL CRIMINAL CONVICTIONS within the last ten- (10) years except minor traffic violations of 
the applicant, partner (s) or if a corporation, each officer. IF NONE INDICATE BELOW. (Use extra 
sheets if necessary). 

 
   Date                     NAME               CHARGE Disposition - Court and Date 

    

    

    

Please read, initial and date below each of the following statements: 
 
I understand that by filing the CE-200 I have not hired any of the restricted categories listed on the form.  If I do 
hire any of the restricted categories (even temporary), I must have the appropriate workers compensation and 
disability insurance.  Failure to do so may result in being subject to criminal felony charges as well as 
suspension/revocation of my home improvement license. ___________(Initials) ____________(date) 
 
I further state that I have accurately reported to my insurance company/broker the classification and type of work 
I perform, and am requesting to be licensed under to perform this work in Rockland County.  I understand that I 
am required to maintain insurance in accordance with Rockland County law.  Failure to do so may result in being 
subject to civil penalties as well as suspension/revocation of my Electrical Inspection  license. 
__________(Initials) ___________(date) 
 
I have received/downloaded a copy of Chapter 250 Art. II of the Laws of Rockland County. _____(Initials) 
______(date) 
____________________________________________________________________________________________________________ 

YOU ARE REQUIRED TO NOTIFY THIS OFFICE IMMEDIATELY OF ANY CHANGE (S) IN THE INFORMATION SUPPLIED BY YOU 
ON THIS APPLICATION. 

NOTE:  False statements made herein are punishable by a Class A misdemeanor pursuant to Section 210.45 of the Penal Law. 
 
___________________________________________ _________________ 
SIGNATURE OF APPLICANT   DATE 
 
SWORN BEFORE ME THIS DATE:    COMM. OF DEEDS - NOTARY PUBLIC 
 
_____________________Day of _________________20____  County _______________________________ 
 
__________________________________________________  No. __________________________________ 
 



 

 

ROCKLAND COUNTY 
DEPT. OF WEIGHTS & MEASURES 

OFFICE OF CONSUMER PROTECTION 
LICENSING DIVISION 

 
 

APPLICATION FOR LICENSE AS AN ELECTRICAL INSPECTOR 
ANSWERS TO ALL QUESTIONS MUST BE ACCURATE AND COMPLETE. NO BLANK SPACES. 

 
 

Name of Business              
 
Business Address Street             
 
Town or Village    State  Zip  Business Phone No.: (            )   
 
 
Name of Electrical Inspector  (Last, First, Middle)            
 
Home Address Street             
 
Town or Village    State  Zip  Home Phone No.: (           ) 
 
Date of Birth (MMDDYYYY)   Sex:  M  F    Email Address:     

 
LIST ALL UNSATISFIED JUDGEMENTS in which the applicant, partner (s) or if a corporation, each officer are named as 
judgment debtors. IF NONE INDICATE BELOW. (Use extra sheets if necessary). 
 

DATE NAME of JUDGEMENT DEBTOR NAME of JUDGEMENT CREDITOR DISPOSITION - COURT and DATE 
    

    

    

 
LIST ALL CRIMINAL CONVICTIONS within the last ten- (10) years except minor traffic violations of the applicant, partner (s) 
or if a corporation, each officer. IF NONE INDICATE BELOW. (Use extra sheets if necessary). 
 

DATE NAME CHARGE DISPOSITION – COURT and DATE 
    

    

    

 
YOU ARE REQUIRED TO NOTIFY THIS OFFICE IMMEDIATELY OF ANY CHANGE (S) IN THE INFORMATION SUPPLIED BY YOU ON THIS APPLICATION. 
NOTE:  False statements made herein are punishable by a Class A misdemeanor pursuant to Section 210.45 of the Penal Law. 
 
 
___________________________________________ _________________ 
SIGNATURE OF APPLICANT   DATE 
 
SWORN BEFORE ME THIS DATE:           COMM. OF DEEDS - NOTARY PUBLIC 
 
_____________________Day of _________________20____         County _______________________________ 
 
 
__________________________________________________         No. __________________________________ 

LIC NO.    

RECEIPT NO.   

DATE    

FEE PAID $   

CSC_____________________      

DO NOT WRITE IN THIS SPACE 



 
 

CONSUMER PROTECTION / WEIGHTS & MEASURES 
50 Sanatorium Road, Building A, 8th Floor 

Pomona, New York 10970 
Phone: (845) 364-3901     Fax: (845) 364-3902 

Email: CPLCAL@co.rockland.ny.us 
 

Kimberly Von Ronn, Esq. 
Director and Public Advocate 

 

 

 
TO:  Licensees & Applicants 
 
RE:  Child Support Certification 
 
 
New York State law (General Obligation Law, Section 3-503) REQUIRES this office to gather 
information to allow the Department of Social Services to determine if applicants for a license issued by 
this office and those seeking to renew their license are in default of their obligation to pay child support. 
 
Therefore, you must fill out the attached form completely and sign same before a notary.  The 
information you supply will be checked by the Department of Social Services against a nationwide 
database to confirm that you are not in default on child support obligations. 
 
PLEASE TAKE NOTICE that providing false information may result in criminal charges and, in 
addition, may result in the denial of your application or renewal of your license. 
 
PLEASE TAKE FURTHER NOTICE that any persons who are four months or more in arrears in child 
support or who have failed to comply with a summons, subpoena or warrant relating to a paternity or 
child support proceeding may be subject to suspension of their business, professional, drivers and/or 
recreational licenses and permits including, but not limited to, licenses issued pursuant to section 11-
0713 of the environmental conservation law.  
 
I thank you for your cooperation in this matter. 
 



 

 

 
 

 
 
To Be Filled Out By The Licensing Agency:    Solid Waste Commission   Department of Consumer Protection   Department of Health   
                                                               Department of Public Safety   County Clerk   Other 
 

LICENSE BEING APPLIED FOR 
  

PRINT IN BLOCK LETTERS WITHOUT TOUCHING THE SIDES OF THE BOXES 
 

E L E  C T R I C A L  I N S P E C T O R     
 

THIS FORM MUST BE FULLY COMPLETED BY APPLICANT FOR APPLICATION TO BE VALID 
 
Last Name     ___________________________________________________________________ 
 
First Name    ___________________________________________________________________ 
 
Social Security     __ __ __ - __ __ - __ __ __ __     Date of Birth     __ __   __  __   __  __ 
          M  M   D   D    Y   Y 
Home Address     _______________________________________________________________ 
 
City     ________________________     State     __  __     Zip     __  __  __  __  __  

 
I, ___________________________________________________ being duly sworn make the following statement: 

(Choose 1 or 2. and put an "X" in the box in front of whichever is appropriate) 

     1.   I am not under a court or administrative order to pay child support, OR 
     2.   I am under an obligation to pay child support. My child support account number is (if applicable)________________________________________ 

(If you chose #2, put an "X" in front of the applicable statement 

  A.  I do not owe arrears equal to 4 months or more of child support payments. 
       B.  I have arrears equal to 4 months or more of child support payments, and one of the following statements applies to me (check the  
                  appropriate boxes):  
 

 l am making payments by income execution or by court agreed payment/re-payment plan or by a plan agreed to by the parties. 
 My child support obligation is the subject of a pending court proceeding. 
 I am currently in receipt of Public Assistance or Supplemental Security Income.  My case number is ____________________ 

 
       C. I have arrears equal to 4 months or more of child support payments and none of the above statements in "B" apply to me. 
 
I hereby authorize NYS Child Support, including Rockland County Child Support Enforcement Unit, to release any records pertaining to my child support 
case to the above-named Licensing Agency. 
 
I hereby do solemnly swear that the information provided by me in this certificate is true and accurate to the best of my knowledge.  I acknowledge that 
this statement is under oath. 
 
Sworn before me this __________ day     x______________________________________________________ 

Signature 
of______________, _______ 
 
________________________________________        ___________________ 
Notary Public State of New York                                                                                                                           Date 
 
THE INTENTIONAL SUBMISSION OF FALSE WRITTEN STATEMENTS FOR THE PURPOSE OF FRUSTRATING OR DEFEATING PAYMENT 
OF SUPPORT IS PUNISHABLE PURSUANT TO SECTION 175.35 OF THE PENAL LAW.  PERSONS WHO ARE FOUR MONTHS OR MORE IN 
ARREARS IN CHILD SUPPORT MAY BE SUBJECT TO SUSPENSION OF THEIR BUSINESS, PROFESSIONAL AND/OR DRIVERS LICENSE.
  
 
DO NOT WRITE BELOW THIS LINE-FOR OFFICIAL USE ONLY 
 
  Information verified, or status of case unknown to OCSE.       Information is at variance with OCSE records. 
     Verifying Section & Supervisor:     _____________________________      Date:     ___ - ___ - ___ 
 

         

CHILD SUPPORT CERTIFICATION 
Rockland County Office of Child Support Enforcement 

 



 

 

BUSINESS CERTIFICATE INFORMATION  
The Rockland County Clerk files business certificates for individuals or partners doing business 
in Rockland County under an assumed name. Business Certificate forms are available at our 
office or can be downloaded through this site. For further information or to download forms, 
review our Business Certificate FAQ’s or call us at (845) 708-7222.  

1. What is a Business Certificate?  

2. How do I file a Business Certificate?  

3. How much does it cost to file a Business Certificate  

4. How do I change a certificate I already filed?  

5. How do I discontinue a business?  

6. How do I get a N.Y.S. sales tax I.D. number?  

7. Where can I find other links or download forms?  

  
 

  

1. What is a Business Certificate? 
A Business Certificate is a legal document which can be filed in the Rockland County Clerk’s Office, by an individual or 
group of individuals who wish to conduct business in the County of Rockland under an assumed name. You may be required to 
have a Business Certificate to be licensed by other agencies, or for tax or insurance purposes.  

2. How do I file a Business Certificate?  
Obtain a "Business Certificate" or "Business Certificate For Partners" form from the website of the Rockland County Clerk, or 
directly at the Rockland County Clerk's Office, Rockland County Courthouse, 1 South Main Street, Suite 100, New City, New 
York 10956, telephone number (845)708-7222. 
Search the computer in the Rockland County Clerk’s Office to determine if the name you intend to call your business is 
already being used. If the name is already in use, an alternative name should be selected. 
Complete the appropriate Business Certificate form, appear at the Land Records counter in the Rockland County Clerk’s 
Office with the form, the fees noted below, and official picture identification. 

3. How much does it cost to file a Business Certificate?  
$25 to file a Business Certificate  
$10 for two certified copies 
$35 Total — includes filing, and 2 certified copies. 
ALL FEES MUST BE PAID IN CASH OR BY MONEY ORDER. (NO PERSONAL CHECKS) 
Make money orders payable to "Rockland County Clerk" 

4. How do I change a certificate I already filed? 
Use the "Amended Business Certificate" form to make changes such as addresses or partners. The fees are the same as noted in 
question #3 above. 

5. How do I discontinue a business? 
Use the "Certificate of Discontinuance of Business" or "Certificate of Discontinuance of Business as Partners" form. There is 
no fee to file this form.  

6. How do I get a N.Y.S. sales tax I.D. number? 
Call 518-457-5431.    

7. Where can I find other links or download forms? 
NYS Department of Taxation  
Blumberg Legal Forms  
Corporation Filings & UCC Forms and Information  
Licensing for Electricians, Home Improvement Inspectors, Plumbers, Towers  
Federal Tax I.D.s  
Information (Federal) for Starting a Business  

 

http://www.rocklandcountyclerk.com/#1
http://www.rocklandcountyclerk.com/#2
http://www.rocklandcountyclerk.com/#2
http://www.rocklandcountyclerk.com/#3
http://www.rocklandcountyclerk.com/#4
http://www.rocklandcountyclerk.com/#5
http://www.rocklandcountyclerk.com/#6
http://www.rocklandcountyclerk.com/#7
http://www.tax.state.ny.us/sbc
http://www.blumberglegalforms.com/
http://www.dos.state.ny.us/corp/corpwww.html
http://www.co.rockland.ny.us/cpl/default.htm
http://www.irs.gov/businesses/small/article/0,,id=99336,00.html
http://www.irs.gov/pub/irs-pdf/p583.pdf
http://www.irs.gov/formspubs/display/0,,i1%25
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