
 
 

CONSUMER PROTECTION / WEIGHTS & MEASURES 
50 Sanatorium Road, Building A, 8th Floor 

Pomona, New York 10970 
Phone: (845) 364-3901     Fax: (845) 364-3902 

Email: CPLCAL@co.rockland.ny.us 
 

Kimberly Von Ronn, Esq. 
Director and Public Advocate 

 
 
 
Dear Sir or Madam: 
 
Chapter 394 of the Laws of Rockland County requires that persons doing business as tow truck operators 
obtain a Rockland County license. Anyone operating a towing business in Rockland County without a 
license will be subject to civil and criminal penalties. 
 
Enclosed is a copy of this law, general instructions, and a license application.  Before filling out the enclosed 
application form, please be sure to read the enclosed law and the instructions carefully. The application must 
be notarized. 
 
To allow us time to process your application, we urge you to return it as soon as possible.  Please contact 
this office if you have any questions concerning the enclosed materials. 
 

 
Enclosed.
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OFFICE OF CONSUMER PROTECTION 
LICENSING DIVISION 

COUNTY OF ROCKLAND 
50 Sanatorium Road, Building A, 8th Floor 

Pomona, NY 10970 
 

TOW TRUCK OPERATOR 

 

THE FILING OF AN APPLICATION DOES NOT CONSTITUTE PERMISSION TO 

OPERATE.  A LICENSE MUST ACTUALLY BE IN POSSESSION OF THE 

LICENSEE BEFORE ANY OPERATION MAY BE LEGALLY CONDUCTED. 

 

Failure to complete the required information or the giving of false information in the application may result 
in the denial of said application for a license or any renewal thereof, as well as cancellation or revocation in 
the event such license has been issued.  FALSIFICATION OF ANY STATEMENT MADE HEREIN IS 
AN OFFENSE PUNISHABLE BY A FINE AND/OR IMPRISONMENT.  

 
The licensing provided shall apply solely to Chapter 394 of the Laws of Rockland County.  The issuance of 
a license is subject to verification under the requirements herein provided.  
 
1. THE APPLICATION MUST have all questions answered accurately and completely, signed before a 

Notary Public and thereafter filed with this office in person. 
 

2. INDIVIDUALS operating under a trade name must submit a certified copy of the trade name certificate 
filed in the Rockland County Clerk's Office. 

 
3. PARTNERSHIPS operating under a trade name must submit a certified copy of the partnership 

certificate filed in the Rockland County Clerk's Office. 
 

4. CORPORATIONS must submit a copy of the Secretary of State's receipt, showing the filing of the 
Certificate of Incorporation or its application for authority to do business in New York State. 

 
5. CRIMINAL CONVICTIONS: List all criminal convictions within the last five- (5) years, except minor 

traffic violations for applicant, partners and corporate officers 
 

6. SUBMIT copy of valid New York State driver’s license. 
 

7. INSURANCE: Each application for a license shall be accompanied by a certificate of AUTOMOBILE 
LIABILITY (Refer to NY State Vehicle & Traffic Law section 345(b)(3) for limits), GARAGE 
LIABILITY INSURANCE, and GARAGE KEEPER’S LIABILITY INSURANCE in a minimum of 
$75,000 per occurrence  

 
8. VEHICLE IDENTIFICATION: Submit a photocopy of the New York State Registration for the wrecker 

or tow truck. 
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9. SCHEDULE OF FEES: The application fee for licensing shall be $325.00 plus $75.00 per vehicle. 
Renewals are $225.00 per license plus $75.00 per vehicle per year, payable by check or money order, 
made out to the Rockland County Commissioner of Finance or by credit card. 

 
10. IN THE PLACE OF BUSINESS, ONE COPY OF THE LICENSE SHALL BE AFFIXED IN A 

CONSPICUOUS PLACE.  THE SECOND COPY SHALL BE MAINTANINED IN THE LICENSED 
VEHICLE AT ALL TIMES. 

 
11. COMPANY NAME AND LICENSE NUMBER, 6” in height must be painted or permanently affixed on 

each side of the wrecker or tow truck.  MAGNETIC DEVICES ARE PROHIBITED. 
 

12. Applicant must submit Form C-105.2, Form SI-12 or Form U26.3 as proof that he or she has obtained 
the required workers’ compensation insurance and Form DB 120.1 or Form DB155 as proof of disability 
benefits coverage.  County of Rockland, Consumer Protection Office must be listed as Certificate 
Holder.  Only the most current version of the forms will be accepted. 

 
13. Applicants who are not required by law to carry worker’s compensation and/or disability benefits 

insurance should submit Form CE-200.  (Form CE-200, Certification of Attestation for New York 
Entities With No Employees And Certain Out of State Entities, That New York State Workers’ 
Compensation And/Or Disability Benefits Insurance Coverage Is Not Required).  The form can be filled 
out electronically on the NYS Workers’ Compensation Board website at http://www.wcb.ny.gov/, click 
on common forms and search by form number.  Print a finished form to submit with your application.  
Paper forms are available but estimated processing time for paper applications is four weeks. 

 
 

14. Each applicant must complete and submit a completed and notarized Child Support Certification with 
their application pursuant to NYS General Obligations Law §3-503.  If a business partnership, each 
partner must submit Child Support Certification. 

 
 

TOW TRUCK LICENSES EXPIRE AUGUST 31st OF EACH YEAR 
 
 
 

 
LICENSE IS NOT TRANSFERABLE AND WILL BE MAILED TO THE 

 
APPLICANT AFTER THE PROCESSING OF APPLICATION. 

 
(12/21) 

 

http://www.wcb.ny.gov/


 

ROCKLAND COUNTY 
DEPT OF WEIGHTS AND MEASURES 

OFFICE OF CONSUMER PROTECTION 
LICENSING DIVISION 

 
 
 

 
APPLICATION FOR LICENSE AS A TOW TRUCK OPERATOR 
(ANSWERS TO ALL QUESTIONS MUST BE ACCURATE AND COMPLETE) 

_________________________________________________________________________________________________________________ 
CHECK BOX TO INDICATE TYPE OF OWNERSHIP 

                                 CORPORATION                     PARTNERSHIP                                    INDIVIDUAL OWNER 
_______________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________ 
 

Is the business currently licensed?            Yes, list license number ________________ Submit $75 for each additional vehicle 

                                                                       No, Submit $325 Application Fee plus $75 for each vehicle 

Name of Business:   ________________________________________________________________________________________________ 

Assumed Name:      ________________________________________________________________________________________________   

Business Address Street: ____________________________________________________________________________________________ 

Town or Village:     _______________________________________________________State_______________________Zip ___________ 

__________________________________________________________________________________________________________________ 

Name of Applicant (Last, First, Middle): _______________________________________________________________________________ 

Home Address Street: ______________________________________________________________________________________________ 

Town or Village:          ____________________________________________________State_______________________Zip____________ 

__________________________________________________________________________________________________________________ 

Date of Birth: Month _______Day______ Year________   Sex: F     M          

Business Phone No. (_______)_____________________Home Phone No. (_______)__________________________ 

__________________________________________________________________________________________________________________
Partnership:  Yes       No    If Yes, list name and address of each Partner: 
Name:                 Address:          
Name:                                                                         Address:                                                                                                                                                                                            

__________________________________________________________________________________________________________________ 

Corporation/LLC/LTD/LP/LLP:  Yes       No         If Yes, list name, title and address of any officer of the corporation or a designated agent of 

service upon whom process or other legal notice may be served. 

Name:              Address:                 

Corporate Title:     

Name:                                                      Address:         

Corporate Title:___________________________ 

_______________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________ 

 
ADDRESS OF WHERE TOWED 
VEHICLES ARE TO BE STORED 

MAXIMUM NUMBER OF  
VEHICLES STORED 

REGULAR BUSINESS HOURS 

   

   

   

DO WRITE IN THIS 
SPACE 

Lic. No.________________ 

Receipt NO. ____________ 

Date:     ________________ 

Fee Paid:  $_____________   

   



 

 
 
 
LIST ALL VEHICLES USED IN YOUR BUSINESS 
 

   YEAR MAKE TYPE PLATE#  (Submit copy 
of DMV Registration) 

VIN# 

     

     

     

     

     

     

     

     

     

     

 
Name of Vehicle Owner Other than Licensee: _______________________________________________________________________________________ 

Address: ______________________________________________________________Business Phone No._______________________________________ 

 

Submit copy of written lease or other agreement by which the applicant has use of the vehicle 

____________________________________________________________________________________________________________ 
 

ARE THERE ANY CRIMINAL CONVICTIONS within the last five- (5) years except minor 
traffic violations of the applicant, partner (s) or if a corporation, each officer? 

 No  Yes  -   If yes, please attach a List of All Criminal Convictions including the Date, Name, 
Charge, and Disposition – Court and Date. 

 
 
 
____________________________________________________________________________________________________________ 

YOU ARE REQUIRED TO NOTIFY THIS OFFICE IMMEDIATELY OF ANY CHANGE (S) IN THE INFORMATION 
SUPPLIED BY YOU ON THIS APPLICATION. 

__________________________________________________________________________________________ 
NOTE:  False statements made herein are punishable by a Class A misdemeanor pursuant to Section 210.45 of the 
Penal Law. 
 
 ___________________________________________      _________________ 
                    SIGNATURE OF APPLICANT                             DATE 
         
                    SWORN BEFORE ME THIS  DATE:                                                    COMM. OF DEEDS - NOTARY PUBLIC 
 
_____________________Day of _________________20____                  County  _______________________________ 
 
__________________________________________________                   No. ___________________________________                



 
 

CONSUMER PROTECTION / WEIGHTS & MEASURES 
50 Sanatorium Road, Building A, 8th Floor 

Pomona, New York 10970 
Phone: (845) 364-3901     Fax: (845) 364-3902 

Email: CPLCAL@co.rockland.ny.us 
 

Kimberly Von Ronn, Esq. 
Director and Public Advocate 

 

 

 
TO:  Licensees & Applicants 
 
 
RE:  Child Support Certification 
 
 
New York State law (General Obligation Law, Section 3-503) REQUIRES this office to gather 
information to allow the Department of Social Services to determine if applicants for a license 
issued by this office and those seeking to renew their license are in default of their obligation to 
pay child support. 
 
Therefore, you must fill out the attached form completely and sign same before a notary.  The 
information you supply will be checked by the Department of Social Services against a 
nationwide database to confirm that you are not in default on child support obligations. 
 
PLEASE TAKE NOTICE that providing false information may result in criminal charges and, 
in addition, may result in the denial of your application or renewal of your license. 
 
PLEASE TAKE FURTHER NOTICE that any persons who are four months or more in arrears 
in child support or who have failed to comply with a summons, subpoena or warrant relating to a 
paternity or child support proceeding may be subject to suspension of their business, 
professional, drivers and/or recreational licenses and permits including, but not limited to, 
licenses issued pursuant to section 11-0713 of the environmental conservation law.  
 
Thank you for your cooperation in this matter. 
 



 

 

 
 

 
 
To Be Filled Out By The Licensing Agency:    Solid Waste Commission   Department of Consumer Protection   Department of Health   
                                                               Department of Public Safety   County Clerk   Other 
 

LICENSE BEING APPLIED FOR 
  

PRINT IN BLOCK LETTERS WITHOUT TOUCHING THE SIDES OF THE BOXES 
 

T O W I N G                     

 
THIS FORM MUST BE FULLY COMPLETED BY APPLICANT FOR APPLICATION TO BE VALID 

 
Last Name     ___________________________________________________________________ 
 
First Name    ___________________________________________________________________ 
 
Social Security     __ __ __ - __ __ - __ __ __ __     Date of Birth     __ __   __  __   __  __ 
          M  M   D   D    Y   Y 
Home Address     _______________________________________________________________ 
 
City     ________________________     State     __  __     Zip     __  __  __  __  __  

 
I, ___________________________________________________ being duly sworn make the following statement: 

(Choose 1 or 2. and put an "X" in the box in front of whichever is appropriate) 

     1.   I am not under a court or administrative order to pay child support, OR 
     2.   I am under an obligation to pay child support. My child support account number is (if applicable)________________________________________ 

(If you chose #2, put an "X" in front of the applicable statement 

  A.  I do not owe arrears equal to 4 months or more of child support payments. 
       B.  I have arrears equal to 4 months or more of child support payments, and one of the following statements applies to me (check the  
                  appropriate boxes):  
 

 l am making payments by income execution or by court agreed payment/re-payment plan or by a plan agreed to by the parties. 
 My child support obligation is the subject of a pending court proceeding. 
 I am currently in receipt of Public Assistance or Supplemental Security Income.  My case number is ____________________ 

 
       C. I have arrears equal to 4 months or more of child support payments and none of the above statements in "B" apply to me. 
 
I hereby authorize NYS Child Support, including Rockland County Child Support Enforcement Unit, to release any records pertaining to my child support 
case to the above-named Licensing Agency. 
 
I hereby do solemnly swear that the information provided by me in this certificate is true and accurate to the best of my knowledge.  I acknowledge that 
this statement is under oath. 
 
Sworn before me this __________ day     x______________________________________________________ 

Signature 
of______________, _______ 
 
________________________________________        ___________________ 
Notary Public State of New York                                                                                                                           Date 
 
THE INTENTIONAL SUBMISSION OF FALSE WRITTEN STATEMENTS FOR THE PURPOSE OF FRUSTRATING OR DEFEATING PAYMENT 
OF SUPPORT IS PUNISHABLE PURSUANT TO SECTION 175.35 OF THE PENAL LAW.  PERSONS WHO ARE FOUR MONTHS OR MORE IN 
ARREARS IN CHILD SUPPORT MAY BE SUBJECT TO SUSPENSION OF THEIR BUSINESS, PROFESSIONAL AND/OR DRIVERS LICENSE.
  
 
DO NOT WRITE BELOW THIS LINE-FOR OFFICIAL USE ONLY 
 
  Information verified, or status of case unknown to OCSE.       Information is at variance with OCSE records. 
     Verifying Section & Supervisor:     _____________________________      Date:     ___ - ___ - ___ 
 

         

CHILD SUPPORT CERTIFICATION 
Rockland County Office of Child Support Enforcement 
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